Book Review: Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier

Published April 27, 2016 by adventuresinbooklandblog
The Keeper of the Mist

by Rachel Neumeier

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Release Date: March 8th 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction

Rate: INSERT YOUR RATE HERE

Synopsis:
A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.
Keri has been struggling to run her family bakery since her mother passed away. Now the father she barely knew—the Lord of Nimmira—has died, and ancient magic has decreed that she will take his place as the new Lady. The position has never been so dangerous: the mists that hide Nimmira from its vicious, land-hungry neighbors have failed, and Keri’s people are visible to strangers for the first time since the mists were put in place generations ago. At the same time, three half-brothers will their own eyes on the crown make life within the House just as dangerous as the world outside.
But Keri has three people to guide her: her mysterious Timekeeper, clever Bookkeeper, and steadfast Doorkeeper. Together they must find a way to repair the boundary before her neighbors realize just how vulnerable Nimmira is.
With a spunky main character, lyrical storytelling, and hidden romance, The Keeper of the Mist is an engrossing story that is full of adventure. 

Keeper of the Mist was a book that I was really looking forward to read, I think the cover is just amazing! Once I started to read, it took me a little while to get into the story, something about it didn’t grab my attention. That might have to do with the fact that I didn’t feel a connection to the main characters. The story did pick up for me after a while, but there was never the, “I cant put this down, I have to finish it!” moment.I do think Ms. Neumeier is a great writer and just because I had a little bit of problem connection with these characters doesn’t mean I wont pick up another book by her again.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Follow the The Keeper Of The Mist by Rachel Neumeier Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.
Rachel Neumeier started writing fiction to relax when she was a graduate student and needed a hobby unrelated to her research. Prior to selling her first fantasy novel, she had published only a few articles in venues such as The American Journal of Botany. However, finding that her interests did not lie in research, Rachel left academia and began to let her hobbies take over her life instead.
She now raises and shows dogs, gardens, cooks, and occasionally finds time to read. She works part-time for a tutoring program, though she tutors far more students in Math and Chemistry than in English Composition. 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: