Read Me Fridays: The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler

Published March 20, 2015 by adventuresinbooklandblog

The Truth About Us

Title- The Truth About Us

Author- Janet Gurtler

Publisher- Sourcefire Books

Release Date- April 7, 2015

Amazon-   http://goo.gl/5jAQQ0

BOOK SUMMERY:

A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I’m Not Her that’s “Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult.”-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She’s made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she’s paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it’s all fine. That her “perfect” family is fine. But it’s not. And no one notices the lie…until she meets Flynn. He’s the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of “the wrong side of the tracks.” When Jess’s parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don’t get that the person who shouldn’t fit in your world… might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

MY THOUGHTS:

Jessica has made some mistakes, first through choosing the wrong friends and by betraying a good one. After this the mistakes keep coming. Soon her father is done and sends her to work at a local shelter for the summer. The last thing she thinks I’ll happen is running into one of the boys that gave her a ride home one night, the one she couldn’t get her mind off of. Now that she is getting to know Flynn, she can’t think about anything other than him. Both Jess and Flynn have made mistakes and they both have their own family issues, but they find comfort in each other. There’s one thing that stands in their way, their backgrounds.

Something about the cover of this book let me know that I would enjoy reading this story; little did I know that I would enjoy it so much. The characters were all so great and very relatable, I think young readers can chose one of the many to relate to and many every find a situation that relates to their life. At first Jess isn’t very likable, but as the story goes on, she grows so much as a character. She wasn’t the only one what grew as a character, in the end I think everyone grew a little bit and it was all of the best!

This story was way more than a romance it was just as much about family, and friendships as well. The friendships Jess made throughout the book were great and how can you not love Wilf?!?! He was so funny and had such a huge heart!

This was also a book that I could not put down and I know if anyone else gives this book a chance they will fall in love with it too!

Amazon-   http://goo.gl/5jAQQ0

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: